Best Three Ways to Brighten Someone’s Day

For this post, I wanted to focus on the ways to brighten someone’s day.  We are all leading hectic and crazy lives and the way in which we interact with our fellow human beings has started to suffer.  People barely say thank you anymore, others won’t even give up their seat to someone who needs it more.  These new behaviors are shocking and frightening.  That is why I wanted to share some of the ways that anyone can help brighten someone’s day.

So here are the Best Ways t Brighten Someone’s Day:

1.   Treat the next person in line behind you (like a coffee, tea, donut, etc)

2.  Send someone an e-card just to say thank you

3.  Make them laugh

The other day, I was standing in line for a coffee, checking my email and not really paying attention to what was going on around me.  When it was my turn at the counter, I asked for a coffee (I was at Starbucks).  I started to pay but the server told me it wasn’t necessary because the person in line in front of me had purchased my drink for me.  I quickly looked around to see who might have been in front of me but I couldn’t tell.  When I looked back at the server she just smiled and said “He said he was doing it to brighten someone’s day.”  Well, thanks to that amazing man – he did brighten my day and I smiled all the way to work.  The very next day, I did the same thing for someone else.  I hope I was able to brighten their day…even for just a few minutes.

For my next pick, this was something I use quite often.  I have a great friend who is also a co-worker.  He was having a bad day so I decided to send him a funny (free) e-card that had dogs doing the cha-cha.  The message to him was simple – thanks for being you and enjoy the dancing dogs.  Well,  after he received the card, he called to say thanks and how that crazy card would get him through the day.  Small things…sometimes have the greatest effect.

For my last Best 3 pick…it is a tried and true method and supposedly the best medicine.  Make someone laugh.  I know this helps brighten my day and it should help brighten someone elses.

3 thoughts on “Best Three Ways to Brighten Someone’s Day

  1. Love doing these suggestions. Keep telling people how to brighten someone’s day! It makes us feel amazing too. Thank you for adding my post ‘How to Brighten a Woman’s Day’ to your list of suggestions. Have a beautiful most exhilarating day! Jan

  2. Pingback: How To Brighten A Woman's Day - Inspiration | Encouragement, Impact Others | Jan R Miesse

Leave a Reply

