Best Three Ways to Survive the Work Week

As we get closer to the end of the work week and the weekend, I had a few moments today to reflect back on my own work week.  For me, the last three days at work have been awful.  It is just a constant bombardment of things – one after the other, after the other.  Maybe its karma – I’ve always loved my work, loved diving in and getting things done but now (and the last three of my days are evidence of this) I just don’t want to be in my office.  I don’t want to work on some of the projects that I use to love, I just want to be somewhere else.  I know I’m not alone out there – there are probably hundreds, thousands and maybe millions of people that feel the same way as I do.So while I was sitting at my desk (staring up at the ceiling – I’m in a cubicle so no one was watching), I realized that there had to be some positives…there had to be some things that could help me survive the rest of the week and similar weeks that will be in my future (I wish I could say they wouldn’t but I’m a realist) and I was able to come up with three of the best that I would like to share.

1.  A good cup of coffee

2.  YouTube

3.  Earphones (and a good playlist)

My first choice to help me get through a a work week may not surprise a lot of people.  Coffee at the start of my day is essential.  There is just something comforting about that black liquid (with some cream and sugar for me) that just helps calms and comforts me.  I have actually caught myself a few times, closing my eyes and savouring the first taste.  Its great and for me, has a way of getting me through some tough days and weeks.  Thank you coffee!  I salute you (and I wish I could handle more of you in a day but I’m one of those people that need to limit)

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto...

Image representing YouTube as depicted in Crun...YouTube – thank you (and thanks to my employer for not blocking you) because you are an integral part of helping me get through the work week.  Why you ask?  Well, its pretty simple.  Do you know how many hilarious things you can find on YouTube.  Who hasn’t seen one of the hundreds of videos of people doing the Harlem Shake.  Other videos such as the guy running into a frozen pool with the thought that the ice would crack – it didnt.  Or when owners tape the crazy things there dogs do!  It makes me laugh, and laughing is one of the best ways to forget about the work (for just a couple of minutes) and the stress and all the things you need to do.

The last way that I know always helps me get through the worst of weeks (or even a normal week) is teh fact that I always have my iPod with me at work.  I put my earphones in and use the playlists I have designed for such weeks and I just listen to the music.  It not only helps me focus and get done what needs to get done, it tunes out all the other things going on around me – the noise, the gossip, the office politics, the ‘pissing’ contests, etc.  It’s a magical tool and one that I would really miss.

Leave a Reply

