Best Three Things I would Take to a Desert Island

English: One of the uninhabited islands of Lak...

English: One of the uninhabited islands of Lakshadweep (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today I was in a workshop and one of the exercises that the facilitator directed us to do was determine the top five things we would take to a desert island (for some context, this since may people had different things in their top five …there was a lot more to it but I won’t bore you with that).  However this exercise got me thinking about what would be the best 3 things that I would bring to a desert island.  For me, there was an infinite amount of possibilities and in this case my best three list was generated by ranking the best things that I would bring with me to ensure that my desert island experience was the best possible one I could have.

1.  Books

2.  A man

3.  Infinite supply of food and water

Some people might find it funny that I chose books as the number one best pick but for me, I love to read and this just seemed like a natural choice.  If I am going to be there for a long time, what better way to pass the time but to lounge and read.  These books will be the gateway to other worlds, to feelings, to adventures and so many other things…it is endless and frankly just the best way to spend my time.

My second best pick was for pure selfish reasons.  Hey, if a girl is on a desert island she needs some companionship and to be honest: sex.  Plus, you need someone to interact with.  We all remember the Tom Hank‘s movie Cast Away where his best friend was a volleyball called Wilson, well I wouldn’t want to end up like that.  If I am on a desert island, I want to live it up.

Food and water.  These are elements that are essential to survival and wouldn’t allow me to enjoy the books or the man.  Plus if there was always an infinite amount of food and water, it would save from having to always go looking for it.

Leave a Reply

