Best Three Reasons to Watch Star Wars (over and over again)

  

 English: Opening logo to the Star Wars films

This may seem like an odd post but I did say that I would be blogging about everything out there in the world that I believe should be on a best three list.  Star Wars is no exception.  The idea for the post really came from watching a How I Met Your Mother episode Trilogy Time (Season 7 episode 20) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trilogy_Time  where Ted and Marshall chose to watch the entire trilogy instead of studying for their economics final after Marshall stated that if one didn’t watch the trilogy through every three years, “the dark side wins”.  Its a great episode!

After watching that, I watched the Star Wars Trilogy  (the originals) – let’s make that clear.  I first watched Star Wars with my brother (who was obsessed with it and still is) and I then realized I loved it and here are the reasons why.

 1.  Han and Leah

2. Darth Vader

3.  Ewoks

The characters of Han and Leah were and still are great.  The back-and-forth dialogue between the two of them is classic.  When Leah tells Han she loves him and he says I know – my heart always skips a beat.  They were simply two great characters that fell in love – maybe this was included to draw in female viewers (and if so, well done George Lucas).  They are a timeless couple and one of the greats.

Ok.  Darth Vader.  The voice.  The mask.  The outfit.  He is a classic villain but you just can’t help to like him and feel bad for him at the same time and let’s face it – he is so cool.  The scene where he gets out of his ship on the Death Star and gets his updates while the Storm Troopers stand by – so awesome.  Plus the music that comes on everytime we see him is just perfect.

Star Wars - Darth Vader

  

The Ewoks.  I know this is a love and hate debate for some people but for me, I loved them.  I was a kid and what kid wouldn’t love a giant teddy bear.  They were so cute and cuddly and defended our heroes. 

I could give so many bests’ for Star Wars and could continue to write and write about the movies (the original trilogy) so I’ll end here with one of my favorite quotes.

“I suggest a new strategy, R2. Let the wookiee win.”

 

Leave a Reply

