Best Three Reasons to ‘Stop and Smell the Roses’

the wall with rose. the model of India Gate wi...

the wall with rose. the model of India Gate with roses at Lalbagh flower show 2010 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This has been an odd couple of days.  One that has me questioning a lot of aspects of my life.   A colleague suffered a tragic loss and it brings up a lot of emotions and reflections.   We get so bogged down my our busy lives and we never take the time to truly appreciate the things around us.   I’m talking about a deep and profound appreciation.  I’ve included a post before about the things that I’m grateful for and I stand by those things but I also realize that sometimes I’m so focused on certain aspects that I don’t take the time and smell the roses as I should be doing.

‘Stop and smell the roses’ is a cliché that is widely used in the United States. We are all familiar with its meaning, which is, to take time to appreciate a situation or slow down and pay attention to what is going on around you. ‘Stop and smell the roses’ is commonly used when talking to someone who seems too busy to enjoy life.’

That is why today I did actually ‘practice what I preached’.  I slowed down.  I didn’t worry about what needed to be done. 

1.  You need too!

2.  Life is too short

3. There is so much out there

You need too!  It’s really that simple.  We live in such a high-stress world and relaxing seems like a thing of the past or a luxury that the majority of the world (sorry celebs you do not count in this equation because you are rich and all you seem to do is go shopping – A LOT)do notget to partake in.  How did we become this way?  Why don’t we ‘stop and smell the roses’.  I know why – because of bills, work, kids, etc, etc, etc.  I could do on and on.  The one thing I would like to hear from work is to slow down, take the time to go outside and get some sunshine, go for a walk – sure they try and promote a healthy workplace but that is only when there aren’t things that need to get done – and that is always in my situation.  I admit, stop and smelling the roses is hard and something I have to work on but from today, it will be something I incorporate in my life because I NEED TOO!

Life is too short.  It passes us by (worrying about all of the above).  We need to live our lives as fully as possible.  That is what creates happiness and allows us to ‘stop and smell the roses’.

When I say there is so much out there – that’s because there is.  While we are flying by our life, we are missing all there is and everything the world has to offer. 

So please, I encourage everyone to STOP and SMELL the ROSES – you’ll feel so much better for it!

Leave a Reply

