Best Three Ways to Fight Boredom

images12

Yes, this seems like a pretty funny topic but it’s something that I’ve come across hundreds, even thousands of times in my life.  I get bored.  I get bored with things I’m doing (namely work); bored with people (yes, I’m talking about the lady in the grocery store that needed to rant today at this teenage cashier – she made me bored – so bored, I tuned out and started to daydream in the line); bored of the routine of life – get up, shower, get dressed, have breakfast…I could go on but everyone has experienced this before.

So my time spent daydreaming also helped me with the idea for this post.

Boredom is a real and supposedly there are 5 types of boredom – check out the attached http://www.fastcoexist.com/3022134/there-are-5-types-of-boredom-which-are-you-feeling

So to combat my boredom I wanted to share some of the best ways you can.

1.  The minute you feel boredom creeping up, go to something – anything –  play a game, go for a walk, do the dishes, laundry.

2.  Do something ‘out of the ordinary’ for you

3.  Read

Yes the first thing I put on the list is a surefire way to alleviate boredom.  It takes my mind off the boardroom and gets me thinking and focusing on something else.  Games I find are great for this.  I’ve become obsessed with FarmStory 2.  It keeps me totally involved and I don’t feel bored anymore.  Walking my dogs also helps – just being outside – I’m forced to interact with nature and people.  Yes, even doing dishes – I get the music going and I get the dished done – plus I dance around.  Bye bye boredom.

My second best way is to do something ‘out of the ordinary’ for you as an individual.  For me, that is going to a mall.  I don’t like malls.  I go because there is lots to see.  It keeps me busy and not bored.

As for my last way, this is an old-fashioned way to cure boredom – reading.  Reading lets me escape into the story and consumes me – and I don’t feel bored anymore.  The only thing I caution is that you need to be reading something good otherwise boredom can creep back in.

Hope this helps!

One thought on “Best Three Ways to Fight Boredom

Leave a Reply

