Best Three TV Shows You Might Not Have Heard About Before

If you are like me, you like to discover new things.  In this case, it’s TV shows that may not be in the mainstream but are great (and overlooked because not many people know about them).  There are so many of these types of shows.  It’s kind of frustrated because this usually means that the TV shows I really like don’t end up staying on that long.  They are  usually canceled because they don’t have the type of viewership that make network executives happy.

Hence the reason for this post.  I thought it would be nice to highlight the ‘underdogs’ of TV and let them shine in the spotlight for once.  There are lots of these shows that could be mentioned – so for this post I will probably add some honorable mentions at the end of the post.

Now on to the big reveal – here are my best three:

1.  Grand Hotel (or Gran Hotel – the Spanish title)

2. Legend of the Seeker

3. The Musketeers (BBC  version)

I came across Grand Hotel on Netflix.  I was at home sick and had watched a lot of the TV shows so I wanted something new.  I read the synopsis and decided to give it a try…and like that I was hooked.  For me, it was a Spanish-type version of Downton Abbey but with more intrigue, romance, and fiery latin tempers! (and kind-of like a soap opera – which I missed).  I’m telling you – I became obsessed and binged watched all of the episodes that same day.  Julio and Alicia – oh my god!  The two main characters from different ‘sides of the track’ let’s say and their story and the story of everyone involved with the Grand Hotel.  Its based at a hotel with owners, employees and guests contributing to the story.  I should note – its in Spanish – a language I can’t speak but there is subtitles – which helped.  There is a total of 3 seasons – only 2 are on Netflix right now – waiting for the last season to be added – hopefully that will be soon.

My second choice was easy.  Legend of the Seeker would have gotten the top spot before I had seen Grand Hotel.  It still remains one of my favorites.  It was only on 2 seasons but I just loved it (thanks to my sister for introducing it to me!).  For me, I loved this how (and still do) because of the main characters – Richard and Kahlan.   You need to watch this show…I’ve included the season 1 trailer but Season 2 is equally as good!

The third choice was The Musketeers (another one my sister suggested!).  Its a great show, full of action, mystery, romance and really good looking men!  It was another one that I binged watched and loved it.  So far it has one season but was renewed for a second one…and I can’t wait what adventures The Musketeers will be involved with.

Honorable Mentions:

My So-Called Life (still a classic and one that was gone too soon); Misfits; Undeclared; and Wonderfalls

 

 

Leave a Reply

